autism assistance dog for conor

helping conor in a furry and cuddly way

To quote Bart Simpson, we had a “craptacular” day

on August 21, 2013

So today we went to get Conor’s wrist x-rayed. And by “we” I mean Conor and me. The Hospital in Westlake where I had called ahead of time and explained our situation, i.e. he’s autistic, I need lead gloves to hold him down which I would supply need be, and he would be an unethusiastic patient to say the least, originally said no problem. Then when I go they tell me they can’t handle him and he will need to go to Dell Childrens Hospital where they can handle such a case. Okay, I’m pissed. Then we drive across town (actually I called first and made an appointment and told them the situation) and they were very nice and helpful. At one point, the technician suggested I bring him back when he was calmer, and I said that this was as good as it is going to get. The tech I spoke to on the phone came in and we played a game which Conor eventually played and we got the x-ray done. God bless them at Dell’s Childrens Hospital!

So, while it was originally a “craptacular” day (okay I love that word), it turned out ok. I even blew up a slip-n-slide that I had previously gotten, and was slightly worried we may end up back at Dell Children’s Hospital (at least I knew where it was), but all was well. Unless letting little boys play naked in a slip-n-slide in the (fenced) in backyard is a bad thing. I didn’t and don’t care what the neighbors thought. 

Also, I am very disappointed in the folks of Wham-O. I mean if my son can’t lose his front tooth that’s dangling by a thread on a slip-n-slide what’s this world come to?

 

Leave a Reply

When I Have Time by Sara Rosso

Tech Tips, Biz Info and How-Tos to Bridge the Gap between Meek and Geek

JJJ

BuddyPress, bbPress, BackPress, WordPress

Matt Miklic

Designer, and other useful things.

egwyatt

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

The Listia Blog

Get rid of old stuff. Get new stuff for free!

shelly corrigan | design

website design, development and hosting

tiedforfirst

a special kind of life

surviving what I do

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

