autism assistance dog for conor

helping conor in a furry and cuddly way

Not all those who wander are lost…

on July 31, 2013

…except for Conor. I love J.R.R. Tolkien’s quote, and I believe that’s true with a few exceptions. Case in point: we were at the mall one day and Conor and Jack were busy watching the fish tank in a store near the entrance of the mall. I asked my friend to watch them while I nipped into the restroom which was right behind the fish tank basically. I was in and out in a flash (no preening, no applying lipstick or whatever) and when I came out, Conor was gone. I asked where he was and she said he was there one minute and then gone. I ran to the dressing rooms expecting to find him playing in front of the mirrors, but he wasn’t there. I checked around and had no luck. I finally asked one of the store clerks to help. Announcements were made over the intercom, clerks were on high alert and looking and I was beside myself with fear. I told everyone that he can’t speak and won’t tell you his name or anything else. The staff stayed at the entrance to the mall on the upper and lower level to make sure he wouldn’t leave, so I left the store and combed the parking lot. He has no sense of self-preservation and I knew he could easily be hit by a car. Cell phone in hand I frantically waited for someone to find him or for me to see him running around outside. 

What seemed to be days later, I got the call that they found him. He had run clear across the other side of the mall. A security guard spotted him, heard the announcement over the mall intercom, and had noticed him with us earlier in the day and picked him up. He carried him back to us, and Conor couldn’t have been happier. He was hugging the fellow and smiling like he won the lottery. I was in tears both from stress and from relief.

I am pretty sure they would like to never see us return to that store or the mall. I also know that if Conor could focus, he has a good chance of winning the gold in sprinting. Wandering – yet another reason for getting an assistance dog. 

So, some who wander are indeed lost…

One response to “Not all those who wander are lost…

Leave a Reply

When I Have Time by Sara Rosso

Tech Tips, Biz Info and How-Tos to Bridge the Gap between Meek and Geek

JJJ

BuddyPress, bbPress, BackPress, WordPress

Matt Miklic

Designer, and other useful things.

egwyatt

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

The Listia Blog

Get rid of old stuff. Get new stuff for free!

shelly corrigan | design

website design, development and hosting

tiedforfirst

a special kind of life

surviving what I do

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

